Project Produce

Tri-State Region

While the Tri-State region loosely refers to the area where Iowa, Illinois, and Wisconsin meet, for our project the study area is following 18 counties:


Northwest Illinois: Carroll, Jo Daviess, Lee, Ogle, Stephenson, and Whiteside counties


Northeast Iowa:  Cedar, Clinton, Delaware, Dubuque, Jackson, and Jones counties


A note about Dubuque County — while clearly within the Tri-State region, Dubuque county is unable to directly be a project partner because it is considered an urban county.  All other counties meet the USDA definition of “rural”, allowing this study to be funded by USDA Rural Development.  


Southwestern Wisconsin: Crawford, Grant, Green, Iowa, Lafayette, and Richland counties


For the purposes of our project, “local” is defined by a 250 mile ring around these partner counties.  This project will benefit the upper Midwest as a whole and add greatly to the knowledge of the local produce industry.